The ELT (Extremely Large Telescope) observatory on the Cerro Armazones mountain in Chile

极大望远镜

肖特非常自豪能够在欧洲南方天文台极大望远镜(ELT)的开发中发挥主导作用。 该望远镜的拼接式主镜采用肖特 ZERODUR® 微晶玻璃制成,直径39米,被期待能够开创太空研究的新局面。

背景资料

2006年,欧洲南方天文台(ESO)启动了 ELT 计划,对望远镜进行了详细研究。 这台大型望远镜被视为“观察遥远星系的窗口”,依靠五台反射镜,生成极其准确的数百万光年以外太空的高分辨率图像。 ESO 注意到肖特拥有微晶玻璃领域无与伦比的专业知识,在2017年委托该公司制造镜面基板,来实现这一前所未有的望远镜观察范围。

欧洲南方天文台(ESO)的极大望远镜(ELT )观测台
欧洲南方天文台(ESO)的极大望远镜使用肖特 ZERODUR® 微晶玻璃作为镜面基板。 来源: ESO

任务

ELT 项目是肖特 ZERODUR® 有史以来参与的最大项目之一,共生产四个微晶玻璃镜面基板。 其中两个直径约为4米,二级镜(M2)是最大的整块凸面玻璃部件。 生产直径4.25米的二级镜是一个巨大的挑战,需要将原材料的厚度研磨到只有10厘米(3.94英寸)。 至于主镜,肖特的任务是以每天一块的速度制造949块直径1.5米的镜坯,每一块的尺寸和性质都必须完全相同。

解决方案

肖特拥有最先进的设备,为这个项目做好了充分准备: 五轴数控加工中心可以前所未有的精度水平制造直径达4.25米的 ZERODUR® 微晶玻璃反射镜。 专为 ZERODUR® 安装了第二个熔炉,目的是满足对材料的长期高需求,帮助客户取得成功。

ELT 的光学系统以及 ZERODUR® 的重要作用

图中(艺术家的创作图)显示了 ESO 极大望远镜(ELT)先进的五镜光学系统以及 ZERODUR® 镜面基板的位置。 该望远镜有一个798块六边形(M1)子镜组成的大型主镜和四个较小(M2到M5)的反射镜。 主镜收集夜空中的光线,将其反射到直径4米的M2上。 这个镜面再将光线反射到反射器(M3)上。 第三个镜子的任务是将光线反射到自适应光学系统镜(M4)上,该镜的表面每秒变化一千次,望远镜内置自适应光学系统可校正通过大气层被偏移的恒星光线。 最后,光线到达第五个反射镜(M5),该镜可补偿望远镜结构的低频振动,在最终焦平面上稳定呈现出极度清晰的图像。 
图中显示欧洲南方天文台极大望远镜(ELT)的五个不同阶段的反射镜
Construction of the primary mirror for the ELT (Extremely Large Telescope) observatory
1/3

直径39米的巨大主镜

主镜共包含798块六边形 ZERODUR® 镜片——肖特生产949块镜坯,每一块直径1.5米,厚50毫米。 这些子镜将共同组成一面反射镜, 能够 收集比 人眼 多几千万倍的光线。

Construction of the secondary mirror for the ELT (Extremely Large Telescope) observatory
2/3

技术杰作

ELT 的四米级二级镜(M2)是有史以来制造过的最大的凸面镜。 它具有极大的曲率,直径4.25米,厚度仅100毫米。

Construction of the tertiary mirror for the ELT (Extremely Large Telescope) observatory
3/3

高强度体力工作

浇铸后,三级镜基板(M3)通过若干个加工步骤被研磨,最终重量达到3.2吨。 最终镜面直径4米,厚度100毫米,位于巨大主镜下方的 望远镜光学系统 中。

在极端环境中保持稳定的图像质量

ELT 的核心是肖特 ZERODUR® 微晶玻璃出色的热学性质。 由于热膨胀系数极低,这种玻璃能够在温度变化的环境下可靠地连续工作,并以极高的精度反射光线。 肖特能够生产各种形状和尺寸的玻璃,这对于 ELT 项目也至关重要。
6分钟了解关于肖特和 ELT 的所有重要信息
Markus Kissler-Patig,欧洲南方天文台高级天文学家
如果没有 ZERODUR® 这样的材料,那么 ELT 这样的项目就无法实现。

展现宇宙的广阔

极大望远镜的力量和规模令人惊叹。 这个前所未有的项目具有很多关键元件,目标是收集比人眼多1亿倍的光线,图像比哈勃望远镜所拍摄的清晰16倍。 它还将使人们能够更详细地研究其他恒星周围的行星,以及遥远的星系和超大质量黑洞,扩展我们对宇宙的了解。
Roberto Tamai,欧洲南方天文台 ELT 项目经理
Roberto Tamai,ELT 项目经理
这是一个前所未有的项目。 ELT 是同类中的首创。 它是一台巨大的机器,对定位和跟踪有非常严格的要求。 我们将一块3000吨重的巨大钢块放在设定的位置,并需要极其精确地移动它。 是的,我们进行了所有的模拟和计算分析来证明我们能够做到这一点,但模拟和现实之间存在一个很大的距离。 跃过这个距离是最大的挑战之一。

所用材料与类似产品 

这种独特的微晶玻璃由肖特开发,具有极低的热膨胀系数(CTE),非常适合用于需要高精度定位的严苛环境。 它能够制造成很大的规格,这对于 ELT 项目也非常重要。

前所未有的挑战,需要真正的团队合作

ELT 的规划和建造是一项非常艰巨的任务,需要数百名来自世界各地的技术专家密切合作。 前往智利阿塔卡马沙漠中的 ELT 所在地就是一个运输方面的挑战,巨大镜面和组件的加工和运输将肖特及其合作伙伴推向了奉献和创新的更高水平。


肖特制造玻璃

法国Safran-Reosc抛光

主镜的子镜支撑系统单元
CESA(西班牙)VDL(荷兰)

M2和M3镜面支撑单元
SENER group(西班牙)

四级镜
AdOptica, INAF(意大利)

圆顶结构
ACe consortium(意大利)

ELT 项目所有者
ESO,欧洲南方天文台

希望了解更多? 请联系我们

无论您需要更多信息、样品、报价还是关于某个项目的咨询,我们将竭诚为您服务。

请联系我们
Man in glasses in business office on phone while working on laptop_605x350.jpg

The ELT (Extremely Large Telescope) observatory on the Cerro Armazones mountain in Chile

Extremely Large Telescope

SCHOTT is proud to play a leading role in the development of the European Southern Observatory’s Extremely Large Telescope (ELT). Made with SCHOTT ZERODUR® glass-ceramic, the telescope’s segmented primary mirror is 39 meters in diameter and is widely expected to break new ground in space exploration.

Background

In 2006, the European Southern Observatory (ESO) started the ELT program with detailed studies for the telescope. Conceived as a ‘window into distant galaxies’, the gigantic telescope depends on a series of five mirrors producing exceptionally accurate high-resolution images from millions of light-years out in space. The ESO looked to SCHOTT’s unrivalled expertise in glass-ceramics, and in 2017 commissioned the company to begin manufacturing of the mirror substrates required to achieve its unprecedented telescopic range.

ELT of the European Southern Observatory (ESO) with SCHOTT ZERODUR® glass-ceramic as the mirror substrate. Source: ESO

Task

The ELT project is one of the largest SCHOTT ZERODUR® has ever been involved with, producing the substrate for a total of four glass-ceramic mirrors. Two have a diameter of approx. 4 m, with the secondary mirror (M2) as the largest convex monolithic glass components. The production of the secondary mirror, with a diameter of 4.25 m, is a huge challenge, requiring the grinding of raw material down to just 10 cm or 3.94 inches in thickness. For the primary mirror, SCHOTT has the task of manufacturing 949 mirror segment blanks 1.5 m in diameter at the rate of one per day, each with exactly the same dimensions and properties.

Solution

SCHOTT is ideally prepared for this project with its state-of-the-art equipment: A five-axis CNC competence center enables the manufacturing of ZERODUR® glass-ceramic mirrors up to a size of 4.25 meters in diameter with a precision never achieved before . A second melting tank, installed for ZERODUR®, intends to meet the long-term high demand for the material and to contribute to customers’ success.

The optical system of the ELT and the role of ZERODUR®

This diagram (artist's rendering) shows the advanced five-mirror optical system of ESO's Extremely Large Telescope (ELT) and the location of the ZERODUR® mirror substrates. It is based on a giant main mirror that combines 798 hexagons (M1) and four smaller mirrors (M2 to M5) as reflectors. The main mirror collects light from the night sky and reflects it onto the M2, at four meters in diameter. This in turn reflects the light to a reflector (M3). The task of this third mirror is to irradiate the light onto the adaptive optics mirror (M4), which changes its surface a thousand times a second to correct the starlight distorted by the earth atmosphere in the telescope build-in adaptive optic systems.  Finally, the light reaches the fifth mirror (M5), which stabilizes the extremely sharp images at the final focal plane compensating lower frequency vibrations of the telescope structure. 
Illustration showing the five different mirror stages of the European Southern Observatory’s Extremely Large Telescope (ELT)
1/3

A gigantic 39-meter primary mirror

The main mirror will have 798 hexagonal ZERODUR® segments in total – SCHOTT produces 949 segment blanks, each 1.5 m in diameter and 50 mm in thickness. They will work together as a single mirror able to collect tens of millions times more light than the human eye.

2/3

A technological masterpiece

The four-meter class secondary mirror (M2) for the ELT is the largest convex mirror ever built. It exhibits an extreme curvature, a diameter of 4.25 meters with a thickness of only 100 mm.

3/3

Sweat-inducing work

After casting, the tertiary mirror substrate (M3) was ground down to its final weight of 3.2 tons by performing several machining steps. The final mirror measures four meters in diameter, is 100 mm in thickness, and is located in the telescope optics below the huge primary mirror.

Consistent image quality in extreme environments

At the heart of the ELT are the outstanding thermal properties of SCHOTT ZERODUR® glass-ceramic. With an extremely low coefficient of thermal expansion, it can be relied upon to perform consistently and reflect light in a highly precise manner in temperature varying environments. SCHOTT’s ability to manufacture it in a wide range of shapes and sizes has also been crucial to the ELT project.
Everything you need to know about SCHOTT and the ELT in six minutes
Markus Kissler-Patig, Senior Astronomer at the European Southern Observatory
A project like the ELT would not be possible if a material such as ZERODUR® did not exist.

Visualizing the vastness of the universe

The power and scale of the Extremely Large Telescope is simply astonishing. With almost crucial elements of the project being done for the first time, it aims to gather 100 million times more light than the human eye, with images 16 times sharper than those achieved by the Hubble telescope. It will also enable more detailed studies of planets surrounding other stars, along with distant galaxies and supermassive black holes, expanding our knowledge and understanding of the universe.
Roberto Tamai, ELT Program Manager, European Southern Observatory
Roberto Tamai, ELT Program Manager
Nothing like this has been done before. The ELT is the first of its kind. It’s a big machine with very stringent requirements in terms of positioning and tracking. We’re putting a giant 3,000-tonne piece of steel in a set position and need to move it with extreme precision. Yes, we have all the simulations and computational analyses to show that we can achieve it, but there’s a big step between simulations and reality. Taking this leap is one of the biggest challenges.

Used materials & similar products 

This unique glass-ceramic was developed by SCHOTT to achieve an extremely low CTE (coefficient of thermal expansion), making it ideal for demanding environments that require highly precise positioning. Its potential to be manufactured in large formats is also vital to the ELT project.

An unprecedented challenge that demands true teamwork

The planning and building of the ELT is a massive undertaking and one that requires close cooperation between hundreds of technical experts based all over the world. Simply travelling to the ELT site in the middle of Chile’s Atacama Desert is a logistical challenge, so processing and transporting the massive mirrors and components has pushed SCHOTT and its partners to new levels of dedication and innovation.


Glass made by
SCHOTT

Polishing by
Safran-Reosc, France

Segment support system units for the primary mirror
CESA (Spain) VDL (Netherlands)

Support cells for M2 and M3 mirrors
SENER group (Spain)

Quaternary mirror
AdOptica, INAF (Italy)

Dome construction
ACe consortium (Italy)

ELT project owner
ESO, the European Southern Observatory

Want to know more? Let’s talk

Whether you need more information, samples, a quote, or advice for a project, we would be delighted to talk to you.

Get in touch
Man in glasses in business office on phone while working on laptop